Someone toss me an Innervate.

We didn’t kill Zon’ozz last night.  I’m…upset to say the least.  I lost sleep over it.  My bff who is a casual player reminded me today that I need to remember sometimes, it really is just a game. 

I don’t take solace in that.  I feel like I could have done better.  I feel like I should have been able to push the team to do better.  I feel like we deserved the kill last night, and even if we kill it tonight, which we will, or I’ll have a stroke, we still deserved better. 

Usually, I’m a normal, well adjusted human being.  I raid, I have a few guild obligations throughout the week, but for the most part, I put WoW on the back burner.  I turn off the monitor and forget about it.  Not this time. 

This brings me to an important point, or at least an interesting one.  The fact that this game is so powerful for me, and so many other people.  It’s truely evocative.  I can tell you that some of the biggest thrills and most frustration come from raiding, and playing the game in general.  This is good game design.  The experience makes you feel.  Regardless of the genre or setting, no one sets out to make a game that people just play.  That may be the goal, but the catalyst for the desire to play, and play more, is the evocation of feeling.  Be it frustration or joy or laughter, if a game can pull something out of you, it’s doing a good job at being entertainment. 

I just hope all this pent up frustration is worth it.

Leave a Reply

